South Carolina Med Spa Compliance Checklist (2026)
An item-by-item compliance audit for South Carolina med spas: ownership, supervision and practice agreements, the good-faith exam, who may perform each procedure, consent and records, lasers, drugs, emergencies, advertising, and board complaints. Every item names the document that proves it and who signs it.
Quick Answer
A South Carolina med spa has no state med spa license or registration to obtain. Compliance means being able to prove that the practice acts were followed for every patient: a physician-owned clinical entity; a responsible physician, with PAs under a supervising physician and APRNs under a written practice agreement; a documented exam by a physician, PA, or APRN under § 40-47-113 before any prescription; RNs injecting only under a valid prescriber order and performing laser hair removal only under direct supervision; no injections, IVs, or lasers by estheticians or medical assistants; and written consent, records, emergency, and complaint-response files.
South Carolina gives a med spa operator nothing to file with the state as a med spa. There is no med spa statute, no facility license, and no registration. What South Carolina does have is a set of professional-practice laws that apply in full the moment a syringe, a laser, or an IV bag comes out: the Medical Practice Act in Title 40, Chapter 47 of the South Carolina Code, the Nurse Practice Act in Chapter 33, the cosmetology law in Chapter 13, and the positions the licensing boards have published on top of them. A practice that is compliant in South Carolina is one that can prove, document by document, that each of those laws was followed for each patient.
That is what this checklist is built to do. Every item states the requirement, names the document that proves it, and says who signs that document. The items are grouped the way a board investigator or a buyer's due-diligence team would walk through a practice: the entity, the physician relationships, the exam, the staff, the chart, the devices, the drugs, the emergency plan, the marketing, and the file you pull when a complaint arrives. Where our South Carolina record is silent on a topic, the checklist says so and marks the item as good practice rather than a state rule.
The legal statements on this page come from our South Carolina med spa regulations reference, which carries the full citation list and was last reviewed July 21, 2026, and from our license-by-license guide to who can inject Botox in South Carolina. Nothing here borrows a rule from another state.
In short
South Carolina regulates the people, not the spa. Own the clinical entity correctly, keep every PA supervision arrangement and APRN practice agreement current, examine and document before every first prescription, keep RNs inside the order they were given, keep estheticians and medical assistants out of medical work entirely, and hold a document behind every one of those facts. The unlicensed-practice misdemeanor in § 40-47-200 reaches anyone who aids and abets, so owners and prescribers share the exposure with whoever held the syringe.
How Should You Use This South Carolina Checklist?
Work through it in order, and do not tick a box until the proving document is in the file. A South Carolina board inquiry turns on what you can produce, not on what your staff remembers. An item without its document is an item you cannot defend.
Each section below opens with the question an operator actually asks, answers it in the first sentence, explains the South Carolina basis, and then lists the items in a three-column table. The columns are always the same:
- Requirement is what has to be true in the practice.
- Proof is the document that shows it is true on a given date.
- Signed by is the person whose signature makes the document mean something. If the wrong person signs, the document proves nothing.
Items marked (good practice) are not drawn from a South Carolina statute or board position in our record; they are the evidence layer that shows the legal items were met. Unmarked items trace to our South Carolina record or injection guide, and the section text names the source.
Run the full list before opening, before adding a service line, whenever a physician, PA, or APRN joins or leaves, and at least once a year.
Does a South Carolina Med Spa Need a State License or Registration?
No. South Carolina has no med-spa-specific license or registration, so a typical med spa files nothing with the state as a med spa. In their joint advisory opinion on retail IV therapy, the Boards of Medical Examiners, Nursing, and Pharmacy acknowledged there are "no set rules or guidelines that specifically guide the operation" of these businesses.
The absence of a facility license shifts the compliance burden onto the individual licensees and the business's structure; it does not reduce it.
The one facility rule that can apply
Regulation 81-96, the Board of Medical Examiners' office-based surgery regulation, is the only medically specific facility requirement in our South Carolina record. It defines "surgery" to include the use of lasers. For Level II and Level III office surgery, meaning procedures that involve moderate or deep sedation or general anesthesia, the practice must be accredited and the physician must register each location with the Board. Level I procedures are excluded. Neurotoxin, filler, most laser work, and IV hydration done without sedation sit in Level I, so most South Carolina med spas never trigger the regulation.
The checklist item is not "register." It is "confirm in writing that you do not need to." Re-run it before launching any procedure that involves sedation.
| Requirement | Proof | Signed by |
|---|---|---|
| The business is organized and licensed as a business under ordinary state and local rules (good practice) | Formation documents, local business license, registered-agent record | Owners or organizers of the entity |
| A written determination that no procedure on the menu is Level II or Level III office surgery under Reg. 81-96 | Service-menu review memo, dated, listing each procedure and its sedation level | Physician responsible for the medical services |
| If any procedure uses moderate or deep sedation or general anesthesia: accreditation and physician registration of the location with the Board of Medical Examiners | Accreditation certificate; Board registration confirmation for each location | Registering physician |
Who Can Own a South Carolina Med Spa?
The clinical practice has to be physician-owned; lay investors take part through a separate management company, not by owning the entity that practices medicine. Our record shows South Carolina enforcing a corporate-practice-of-medicine restriction through common law rather than one statute with that name.
The South Carolina Supreme Court stated in Baird v. Charleston County (1999) that "South Carolina has a common law prohibition against the corporate practice of medicine," relying on a line of cases that goes back to Ezell v. Ritholz (1938). Two statutes reinforce the doctrine. Under §§ 33-19-103 and 33-19-200 of the Professional Corporation Supplement, a professional corporation rendering a licensed professional service may issue shares only to individuals licensed to render that service, partnerships made up of qualified persons, or other qualifying professional corporations. And § 40-47-200 extends the Medical Practice Act's unlicensed-practice penalty to any "person or entity aiding and abetting" a violation.
How the common structure works
With a non-physician investor, the usual arrangement splits the business in two. A physician-owned professional entity holds the clinical practice, including patient relationships, records, and every treatment decision. A management services organization owns the non-clinical side, such as the lease, equipment, billing, and marketing, under a written agreement. The joint IV opinion adds a point that belongs in every management agreement: no business or business owner may control the licensed practitioner's independent medical judgment.
Have South Carolina healthcare counsel draft the structure before the entity is formed; corporate-practice problems cannot be cured later with better clinical paperwork.
| Requirement | Proof | Signed by |
|---|---|---|
| The entity that provides medical services is owned only by persons or entities allowed to hold it (licensed individuals or qualifying professional entities) | Articles of incorporation or organization; current cap table or member ledger | Organizers; each owner on the ledger |
| If a professional corporation: every shareholder qualifies under §§ 33-19-103 and 33-19-200 | Share register with each holder's South Carolina license number | Corporate secretary; each shareholder |
| Any lay investment runs through a management services organization that holds only non-clinical assets and functions | Management services agreement with a defined scope of non-clinical services | Authorized signers for the clinical entity and the MSO |
| The management agreement bars the MSO and its owners from controlling diagnosis, treatment, prescribing, or clinical staffing decisions | Clinical-independence clause in the agreement | Same signers as above |
Does a South Carolina Med Spa Need a Medical Director?
South Carolina has no med spa medical director statute, but a physician must still be legally responsible for the medical care, because every PA needs a supervising physician and every APRN needs a collaborating physician under a written practice agreement. The title on the door is optional. The physician relationship is not.
The joint IV opinion adds that a retail medical business must employ a physician, PA, or APRN who holds exclusive authority over diagnosis and prescribing. In practice, the "medical director" in a South Carolina spa is the physician who supervises the PAs, collaborates with the APRNs, and approves the protocols, whatever the contract calls that person.
Supervision and collaboration, relationship by relationship
The standards differ by license, and a South Carolina file has to show the right one for each clinician:
- Physician assistant. Performs delegated medical acts under a supervising physician who is readily or immediately available for consultation (§ 40-47-20).
- Nurse practitioner, certified nurse-midwife, or clinical nurse specialist. Performs medical acts under a written practice agreement with a collaborating physician who is readily available (§ 40-33-34, with "readily available" defined in § 40-33-20). To order or prescribe injectables, the APRN also needs prescriptive authority.
- Registered nurse. Administers medications only under a valid order from a physician, PA, or APRN. For laser hair removal, the RN works only under the direct supervision of a physician, PA, or NP, under the Board of Medical Examiners' laser policy adopted May 7, 2024.
- Unlicensed assistive personnel, including medical assistants, may not administer medications except as otherwise provided by law (§ 40-47-20).
The PA and APRN standards say available, not present. Our record does not establish an on-site requirement for RN neurotoxin injections either, and we are not going to invent one, but that is different from confirming none exists. A joint board advisory opinion on neuromodulators, which we could not open, is the most likely place a presence rule would appear. Until you have read it, do not schedule RN injectors on the assumption that no prescriber needs to be in the building.
What "available" has to look like on paper
A physician who cannot be reached during clinic hours is not available in any sense a board would accept. Keep a coverage schedule, a named backup physician, and a consultation log. When the physician leaves, the PA's supervision and the APRN's practice agreement go with them.
| Requirement | Proof | Signed by |
|---|---|---|
| A South Carolina-licensed physician is responsible for the practice's medical services | Physician services or medical director agreement naming duties, hours of availability, and backup coverage | Physician; clinical entity owner |
| Every PA has a supervising physician who is readily or immediately available (§ 40-47-20) | Signed supervision arrangement; written scope of delegated acts that names each aesthetic service | PA and supervising physician |
| Every NP, CNM, or CNS has a current written practice agreement with a collaborating physician who is readily available (§ 40-33-34) | Practice agreement covering the aesthetic services actually offered | APRN and collaborating physician |
| Every APRN who orders injectables holds prescriptive authority | License verification printout showing prescriptive authority, dated | Credentialing lead; reviewed by the collaborating physician |
| Supervision and practice agreements are re-checked whenever a physician joins or leaves, and at least annually (good practice) | Annual agreement audit sheet with the review date | Physician responsible for the medical services |
| No medical assistant or other unlicensed staff member administers medications (§ 40-47-20) | Written job descriptions; staff attestation of duties | Each staff member; practice manager |
What Has to Happen Before the First Treatment?
A physician, PA, or APRN has to personally examine the patient and document a history, a physical examination, a diagnosis, and a treatment plan before prescribing, under S.C. Code § 40-47-113. Our record draws this from the joint IV opinion, which quotes that section. The same record states that standing orders and patient self-selection do not satisfy the duty.
The Board of Medical Examiners' laser policy carries the same idea into device work: practitioners must examine each patient before initial treatment, or before authorizing a non-physician to provide the treatment. So the exam requirement covers the three service lines most South Carolina spas depend on: injectables, lasers and energy devices, and IV therapy.
Telehealth: allowed, with a limit
South Carolina's telemedicine statute, § 40-47-37, permits the evaluation to happen without the patient and practitioner in the same room, provided the practitioner can accurately diagnose and treat within the standard of care. Our record states the limit as well: a practitioner may not establish a relationship to prescribe remotely when an in-person physical examination is necessary for the diagnosis. For facial aesthetics, whether video is enough is a clinical judgment the prescriber has to be ready to defend, and the chart should say why the prescriber was satisfied.
Standing orders and protocols
Written protocols can standardize how an RN carries out a prescriber's patient-specific plan, but they cannot stand in for the exam of a patient no prescriber has seen. Our record is explicit on the consequence: a practitioner who makes an RN-only clinic possible through standing orders may be an aider and abettor under § 40-47-200.
How often to re-examine
Our record does not set a re-examination interval for returning patients. Because the duty attaches to prescribing, a new product, a new area, or a change in the patient's health calls for a fresh evaluation. Set your own interval in writing and have the physician approve it.
| Requirement | Proof | Signed by |
|---|---|---|
| Every new patient is examined by a physician, PA, or APRN before any prescription, injectable, laser treatment, or IV (§ 40-47-113) | Exam note with history, physical findings, diagnosis, and treatment plan | Examining prescriber |
| Telehealth exams are used only where the standard of care can be met remotely (§ 40-47-37) | Telehealth exam note recording the modality and the prescriber's basis for relying on it | Examining prescriber |
| No patient is treated on a standing order alone | Patient-specific order linked to the exam note for every treatment | Ordering prescriber |
| The patient is examined before the first laser or energy-device treatment, or before a non-physician is authorized to treat (BME laser policy) | Pre-treatment exam note in the device chart | Examining prescriber |
| A written re-evaluation interval, plus triggers for a new exam (new product, new area, health change) (good practice) | Re-evaluation policy approved by the physician | Physician responsible for the medical services |
Who May Perform Which Procedures in a South Carolina Med Spa?
Injectables, IV therapy, and lasers are the practice of medicine in South Carolina: a physician, PA, or APRN decides and orders the treatment, an RN may carry out certain parts of it under the rules below, and estheticians, medical assistants, and unlicensed staff may not perform any of it. The matrix summarizes our record and our South Carolina injection guide. The injection guide covers each license in more depth.
| Service | Who decides and orders | Who may perform it | Not permitted |
|---|---|---|---|
| Injectables (neurotoxin, filler) | Physician; PA under a supervising physician; APRN with prescriptive authority under a practice agreement | Those prescribers; an RN only under a valid order after the prescriber has examined the patient | LPN (treat as no); esthetician; cosmetologist; medical assistant; unlicensed owner or staff |
| IV therapy | Physician; PA under a supervising physician; APRN with prescriptive authority and a collaboration agreement | Those prescribers; an RN starts and gives the IV under the order | RN-only or standing-order-only models; esthetician; medical assistant; unlicensed staff |
| Ablative laser, IPL, and RF procedures | Physician, PA, or APRN examines first | Physician; PA under physician supervision; NP under a written practice agreement | RN; esthetician; medical assistant; unlicensed staff |
| Non-ablative laser treatments, such as laser hair removal | Physician, PA, or APRN examines first | Physician, PA, or NP; an RN only under direct supervision of a physician, PA, or NP | Esthetician; medical assistant; unlicensed staff |
| Non-medical skin care and make-up | No medical order involved | Esthetician or cosmetologist, "for the sole purpose of beautifying the skin" (§ 40-13-20) | Any medical act |
| Chemical peels, microneedling, similar skin procedures | Not specifically addressed in our record | Map conservatively in writing and confirm with the relevant board | Do not assume esthetician scope |
A few rows need explanation.
RN injections
An RN may give an injection only by carrying out a valid order from a physician, PA, or APRN who has examined the patient, and may not assess, select the product, or set the dose on their own. According to the boards' joint opinion, an RN who assesses, selects, and administers injectables on their own authority is engaged in the unlicensed practice of medicine.
LPNs
LPN cosmetic neurotoxin injection is not squarely addressed in any South Carolina source we could verify, and nothing we reviewed grants that authority, so the checklist treats it as no. North Carolina's LPN position does not carry across the state line.
Estheticians and cosmetologists
Under § 40-13-20, the esthetician license covers skin care, make-up, or similar work "for the sole purpose of beautifying the skin." Injectables, medication administration, IV therapy, and laser and similar device procedures fall outside it, and supervision does not extend a cosmetology license to cover a medical act.
Services our record does not address
Chemical peels, microneedling, and similar skin procedures are not specifically addressed in our South Carolina record. That silence is not permission. Map each one to a license and a supervision level in writing, have the physician sign off, and get a written answer from the relevant board before assigning anything with medical depth to an esthetician.
| Requirement | Proof | Signed by |
|---|---|---|
| Every service on the menu is mapped to the licenses allowed to decide, order, and perform it | Service-to-license matrix, dated | Physician responsible for the medical services |
| Every clinician's South Carolina license is active and verified (§ 40-47-30 bars practice without authorization) | License verification printouts, re-checked on a schedule | Credentialing lead |
| RN injections happen only under a valid, patient-specific prescriber order | Order in the chart naming product, sites, and dose | Ordering prescriber; administering RN documents administration |
| RN laser hair removal happens only under direct supervision of a physician, PA, or NP (BME laser policy) | Treatment log naming the supervising practitioner for each session | Supervising practitioner; operating RN |
| No LPN injects until the Board of Nursing confirms authority in writing (good practice, given no verified SC authority) | Written board response, if pursued; LPN job description | Practice manager; LPN |
| No esthetician, cosmetologist, medical assistant, or unlicensed staff member injects, starts an IV, or operates a laser or medical device | Job descriptions; signed scope acknowledgment for each non-clinical role | Each staff member; practice manager |
| Documented training and competency for every person performing a delegated procedure (good practice) | Training certificates; competency checklist signed off after observed treatments | Supervising or collaborating physician; trainee |
What Consent and Records Does South Carolina Require?
South Carolina requires the prescriber's exam, diagnosis, and treatment plan to be documented under § 40-47-113; our record does not set a med-spa-specific consent form or a records-retention period, so those items are good practice built around that documentation duty. Every other document in this checklist leans on the chart, so this is where most gaps surface.
A board reviewing a complaint will want the chain for a single treatment: who examined the patient, what they ordered, who carried it out, what the patient agreed to, and what happened afterward.
Consent
Our record does not prescribe the content of a cosmetic consent form. Good practice is a procedure-specific written consent naming the treatment, product or device, benefits, realistic risks, alternatives, and aftercare. The patient signs before treatment, and so does the practitioner who had the conversation.
Records
Federal HIPAA privacy and security rules apply to a practice that is a covered entity, which turns on whether it conducts certain electronic transactions such as insurance billing. Many cash-pay spas are not covered entities, but patient photos and histories deserve the same protection either way, so build to that standard. Beyond that, how long a South Carolina spa must keep aesthetic records is not stated in our record. Choose a retention period with counsel, write it down, and apply it to both paper and electronic records. When the clinical entity and a management company share a location, the records belong to the clinical entity.
| Requirement | Proof | Signed by |
|---|---|---|
| The prescriber's exam, diagnosis, and treatment plan are documented before prescribing (§ 40-47-113) | Signed and dated exam note | Examining prescriber |
| Procedure-specific written consent is signed before every first treatment and whenever the treatment changes (good practice) | Consent form in the chart | Patient; practitioner who obtained consent |
| The order, the administration record, and the lot numbers of products used are traceable to the same visit (good practice) | Treatment record with product, lot, dose or settings, and time | Administering clinician |
| Photo consent for clinical use is separate from any authorization for marketing use (good practice) | Clinical-photo consent; separate marketing authorization | Patient |
| Records are kept with HIPAA-grade administrative, physical, and technical safeguards, and vendors that handle patient data sign business associate agreements (required if the practice is a covered entity; good practice otherwise) | Security risk assessment; signed business associate agreements | Practice privacy officer; each vendor |
| A written retention period for aesthetic records, set with counsel (good practice; not stated in our SC record) | Records-retention policy | Clinical entity owner |
The Operations & Compliance Kit gives you five core SOPs, covering patient intake, staff training, medical director supervision, supply inventory, and aftercare, to adapt to your South Carolina practice agreements, exam rule, and order chain.
View Operations & Compliance Kit — $197What Does South Carolina Require for Lasers and Energy Devices?
Treat every laser, pulsed-light, and radiofrequency device as a medical device used in the practice of medicine: a physician examines first, operators are limited by license, and RN operators need direct supervision for laser hair removal. That is the Board of Medical Examiners' policy adopted May 7, 2024, as summarized in our record. It covers ablative and non-ablative work alike, and it places PA device work under physician supervision (citing § 40-47-938) and NP device work under a written practice agreement. South Carolina has no laser-specific operator license; our record notes that a 2023-2024 bill, S.853, the "Laser Hair Removal Act," died in committee.
When a burn or pigment injury becomes a complaint, the investigator's first question is who was supervising. The session log answers it.
One more point: Regulation 81-96 counts the use of lasers as "surgery." A laser procedure performed under moderate or deep sedation or general anesthesia moves into Level II or III territory, with accreditation and physician registration requirements. A laser procedure without sedation does not.
| Requirement | Proof | Signed by |
|---|---|---|
| Every laser, IPL, and RF device is listed with its function (ablative or non-ablative) and the licenses allowed to operate it | Device inventory with operator-eligibility column | Physician responsible for the medical services |
| A physician examines the patient before the first treatment or before authorizing a non-physician operator (BME laser policy) | Pre-treatment exam note | Examining practitioner |
| PA operators work under physician supervision; NP operators under a written practice agreement | Delegation document or practice agreement naming device services | PA or NP and the physician |
| RN operators perform only non-ablative work such as laser hair removal, and only under direct supervision of a physician, PA, or NP | Session log with supervising practitioner's name | Supervising practitioner; RN operator |
| No esthetician or unlicensed operator uses any laser, IPL, or RF device | Device-access policy; staff acknowledgments | Practice manager; each staff member |
| No laser procedure under moderate or deep sedation or general anesthesia unless the Reg. 81-96 accreditation and registration are in place | Reg. 81-96 determination memo | Physician responsible for the medical services |
How Should a South Carolina Med Spa Handle IV Therapy, Drugs, and Storage?
Retail IV therapy in South Carolina is the practice of medicine: a physician, PA, or APRN examines the patient and writes the order, an RN may start and give the IV under that order, and RN-only or standing-order-only IV models are unlawful. That comes directly from the joint advisory opinion of the Boards of Medical Examiners, Pharmacy, and Nursing, as summarized in our record.
The IV may be given only after a proper practitioner-patient relationship exists and a prescription has been issued. An RN may administer it but may not diagnose, recommend a drip formula, or work on standing orders alone, and a practitioner who enables an RN-only clinic through standing orders may be aiding and abetting under § 40-47-200.
Drug storage and handling
Our South Carolina record does not address drug storage, pharmacy permits, or dispensing rules for med spas. Ask the Board of Pharmacy whether stocking drugs on site needs any permit. The storage items below are good practice.
| Requirement | Proof | Signed by |
|---|---|---|
| Each IV patient is examined and has an individual order from a physician, PA, or APRN before the IV is started (joint IV opinion) | Exam note and IV order | Examining and ordering prescriber |
| RNs administer IVs only under that order and do not select drip formulas | IV administration record referencing the order | Administering RN |
| No IV service runs on standing orders alone, and no IV service operates without a prescriber | IV program policy approved by the physician | Physician responsible for the medical services |
| Whether any Board of Pharmacy permit applies to drugs stocked on site has been confirmed with the board (not addressed in our SC record) | Written board response or counsel's memo | Clinical entity owner |
| Products are purchased from legitimate licensed suppliers and are traceable by lot (good practice) | Invoices; lot log | Practice manager |
| Temperature-sensitive products are stored per labeling, with a daily temperature log (good practice) | Refrigerator log with min/max readings | Assigned clinical staff member; reviewed by practice manager |
| Drugs are secured, with access limited to licensed clinical staff (good practice) | Access list; key or badge log | Practice manager |
Get the Free Med Spa Compliance Checklist
The full practice-readiness audit — the yes/no checkpoints behind this guide, delivered to your inbox so you can find your gaps before a board does.
It usually lands in your Promotions tab (or spam) — move it to your inbox and add MedSpa Standards to your contacts.
No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.
What Emergency Preparedness Does a South Carolina Med Spa Need?
Our South Carolina record does not set a med-spa-specific emergency preparedness rule, so the items below are good practice, and they are the items most likely to matter on the worst day a practice ever has. Anaphylaxis, vasovagal collapse, a suspected vascular occlusion after filler, a laser burn, or an IV reaction can happen in any aesthetic practice.
When a complication becomes a complaint, the board will ask what the practice had in place and who responded. For a procedure-by-procedure build-out of the emergency plan, use our emergency protocol checklist. It is written for every state, and it pairs with the South Carolina items below.
One South Carolina point does flow from the supervision rules: RNs administer medications under a prescriber's order, and unlicensed assistive personnel may not administer medications except as otherwise provided by law. Write the emergency orders in advance, have the physician sign them, and staff every shift with someone licensed to carry them out.
| Requirement | Proof | Signed by |
|---|---|---|
| Written emergency protocols for each procedure category on the menu (good practice) | Emergency protocol binder with version dates | Physician responsible for the medical services |
| Physician-signed emergency medication orders, with a licensed person on every shift able to carry them out | Signed emergency orders; shift roster showing licensure | Physician; practice manager |
| Emergency supplies stocked and in date, checked on a schedule (good practice) | Crash-kit checklist with expiry dates and check initials | Assigned clinical staff member |
| Staff trained and drilled on the protocols (good practice) | Drill log with scenario, date, attendees, and debrief notes | Clinical lead; each participant |
| Adverse events are documented and reviewed by the physician (good practice) | Incident report; physician review note | Treating clinician; physician |
What Are the South Carolina Rules for Med Spa Advertising?
Our South Carolina record does not address med spa advertising specifically, so there is no South Carolina advertising item we can cite; the items below are good practice that keeps your marketing consistent with the scope rules above. Do not read that silence as freedom. Marketing is where scope problems become visible to the public, and to boards.
The practical risk is an ad implying the wrong person performs a service or that no exam is involved: a walk-in neurotoxin promotion with no mention of a prescriber, or an esthetician billed as an "injector."
| Requirement | Proof | Signed by |
|---|---|---|
| Every advertised service is one the practice's licensed staff may lawfully provide (good practice) | Marketing review checklist matched to the service-to-license matrix | Physician responsible for the medical services; marketing lead |
| Staff titles and credentials in ads match the license each person holds (good practice) | Staff bio approvals | Each named staff member; practice manager |
| No ad implies treatment without a prescriber's exam (good practice) | Pre-publication review log | Physician responsible for the medical services |
| Before-and-after photos are used only with separate written marketing authorization (good practice) | Marketing authorization forms | Patient |
What Happens When a South Carolina Board Opens a Complaint?
Because South Carolina has no med spa facility license, there is no routine med spa inspection scheme in our record; scrutiny usually arrives through a complaint to one of the licensing boards, and the practice has to produce its documents quickly. The boards involved are the Board of Medical Examiners, the Board of Nursing, the Board of Pharmacy, and the Board of Cosmetology, all within the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation.
What is at stake
Our record lays out the exposure. Practicing medicine without authorization violates § 40-47-30. Unlicensed practice is a criminal misdemeanor under § 40-47-200, and that section reaches any person or entity who aids and abets it, which is how a prescriber who signs standing orders for an RN-only clinic, or an owner who hires an unlicensed injector, becomes part of the case. The Board of Medical Examiners may also impose administrative discipline, including fines, public or private reprimand, suspension, or revocation, and may seek an injunction.
Build the response file before you need it
Keep a standing compliance binder holding the current version of every "Proof" document in this checklist. When a complaint arrives, preserve the chart, call counsel, and respond on counsel's timeline rather than sending an unreviewed narrative to the board.
| Requirement | Proof | Signed by |
|---|---|---|
| A compliance binder holds the current proof document for every item on this checklist (good practice) | Binder index with the date each document was last verified | Practice manager; physician |
| A written complaint-response procedure names who receives board correspondence and who calls counsel (good practice) | Complaint-response policy | Clinical entity owner |
| Records related to any complaint are preserved and not altered once a complaint is known (good practice) | Litigation-hold notice | Practice manager; counsel |
| Patient complaints received directly by the practice are logged and reviewed by the physician (good practice) | Complaint log; physician review notes | Practice manager; physician |
| A named South Carolina healthcare attorney is on file before any complaint arrives (good practice) | Engagement letter | Clinical entity owner |
What Could We Not Verify for This Checklist?
A South Carolina checklist has to be honest about gaps, because the state leaves more unwritten than most. These items are missing from our record or depend on documents we could not open:
- The boards' joint advisory opinion on neuromodulators. It is reported to exist, and it may set training, supervision, or presence terms for neurotoxin. We could not open it, so this checklist states none of its terms. Read the current version at the source.
- Whether a prescriber must be on site for RN injections. Our record sets no presence requirement for injections. That is not the same as confirming there is none.
- Consent content and records retention. Not specifically addressed in our record; set both with counsel.
- Drug storage and pharmacy permits. Not addressed; ask the Board of Pharmacy.
- Advertising. No South Carolina med-spa-specific rule in our record.
- Chemical peels, microneedling, and similar skin procedures. Not specifically addressed; map them conservatively and ask the relevant board.
- LPN injection authority. Not squarely addressed in anything we could verify; treat it as no.
Summaries on other websites state some of these points with confidence. We saw enough contradiction between them, on dates and on supervision levels, that we did not repeat any of it here.
The South Carolina Med Spa Compliance Checklist at a Glance
Use this summary as the one-page audit sheet. Each line points back to the full section above.
| Area | What must be on file |
|---|---|
| Facility | Reg. 81-96 memo confirming no Level II/III sedation procedures (or accreditation and registration) |
| Ownership | Formation documents, share register, and MSO agreement with a clinical-independence clause |
| Physician | Physician services agreement with availability and backup coverage |
| PA and APRN | Supervision arrangements, practice agreements, and prescriptive-authority verification |
| Exam | Prescriber exam note (history, physical, diagnosis, plan) before every first prescription |
| RN work | Patient-specific orders for injections; laser hair removal logs naming the direct supervisor |
| Other staff | Job descriptions and scope acknowledgments: no injections, IVs, lasers, or medications |
| IV therapy | Exam note and individual IV order for each patient |
| Consent and records | Signed consents, lot-traceable treatment records, retention policy |
| Drugs | Invoices, lot log, temperature log, access list |
| Emergencies | Protocols, signed emergency orders, supply checks, drill log |
| Advertising and complaints | Marketing review log, complaint procedure, counsel engagement letter |
Bottom line
South Carolina has no med spa statute, so a South Carolina checklist is a list of proofs. Prove who owns the clinical entity. Prove the physician relationship behind every PA and APRN. Prove the § 40-47-113 exam before every first prescription. Prove that each RN acted on a valid order, and that each RN laser hair removal session had a physician, PA, or NP directly supervising. Prove that no esthetician, medical assistant, or unlicensed person did medical work. Where the state is silent, write your own standard and have the physician sign it.
For the full citation list behind this page, open the South Carolina med spa regulations reference. For each license's injection authority in more depth, read who can inject Botox in South Carolina. Every South Carolina guide is collected on the South Carolina med spa compliance hub.
This checklist is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal or medical advice. South Carolina practice rules are administered by the South Carolina Board of Medical Examiners, Board of Nursing, Board of Pharmacy, and Board of Cosmetology within the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation, and they change over time. Items marked good practice are operational recommendations, not South Carolina legal requirements. Confirm current requirements with the relevant South Carolina board and consult a South Carolina healthcare attorney before making ownership, staffing, or clinical decisions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does a South Carolina med spa need a medical director? + −
Can an RN inject Botox in South Carolina without a doctor on site? + −
Is a good faith exam required before aesthetic treatment in South Carolina? + −
Can an esthetician do laser hair removal in South Carolina? + −
Every Protocol, Ready to Adapt
Running a South Carolina med spa? Get every protocol.
All 62 SOPs across injectables, laser, weight loss, IV therapy, operations, and emergencies, ready to adapt to South Carolina's exam, order, and practice-agreement requirements.
View Complete Suite — $997More South Carolina compliance guides on the South Carolina med spa compliance hub.