September 1, 2026 16 min read

Utah Med Spa Medical Director Rules 2026

In most states, "medical director" is an industry habit with no statute behind it. Utah is different: the Legislature named the role, defined its duties, and attached them to a licence. Here is what a Utah med spa actually has to have — and why the job title on the contract is the least important part of it.

Quick Answer

Utah does not use the phrase medical director in its med spa statutes. What it requires is a cosmetic medical procedure supervisor — a role defined at Utah Code 58-1-505, given operational content by 58-1-506, with the mechanics in Utah Admin Code R156-1-506. Only a physician or an APRN, each holding an unrestricted licence, may hold it. If your practice performs cosmetic medical procedures you must have that supervisor; whether you also call them a medical director has no legal effect. The duty attaches to the licence, not the title.

Ask a Utah med spa owner whether they need a medical director and you will usually get one of two confident answers, both wrong. The first is "yes, every med spa needs one" — imported from states where a corporate practice doctrine forces a physician onto the ownership chart. The second is "no, Utah has no medical director requirement" — true as vocabulary, misleading as practice.

The accurate answer is narrower. Utah does not require a medical director. It requires a cosmetic medical procedure supervisor, and it says in statute who that can be, what they must do before a procedure happens, how close they must be while it happens, and who they may hand the work to. Very few states legislate this — which means medical director paperwork copied from another state's template routinely fails to document the thing Utah actually cares about.

In short

Utah Code 58-1-505 creates the cosmetic medical procedure supervisor and limits it to a physician or an APRN holding an unrestricted licence. Utah Code 58-1-506 defines three supervision tiers — direct, indirect and general — and two delegation groups, A and B, that determine which tier applies to which delegate. R156-1-506 sets an 80-hour documented education and experience requirement for nonablative work. Cosmetic medical procedures may only be performed in a cosmetic medical facility, which by definition is one that has such a supervisor. The supervisory role may be delegated only to another qualified supervisor. Enforcement runs through DOPL, advised by the Physicians Licensing Board and the Board of Nursing, and the exposure lands on the supervisor's personal licence.

Utah Names the Role in Statute — Most States Do Not

What Utah Code 58-1-505 actually creates

Utah Code 58-1-505 is titled Cosmetic medical procedure supervisor. It establishes that a supervisor means a physician holding an unrestricted licence under the Utah Medical Practice Act or the Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act and acting within the scope of the practice of medicine, or an advanced practice registered nurse holding an unrestricted licence under the Nurse Practice Act and acting within the scope of advanced practice registered nursing. It also defines the setting: a cosmetic medical facility is a physician's office, or a facility that has a supervisor who performs the supervision required by 58-1-506.

The definition that quietly creates the requirement

That facility definition is circular by design, and the circle is the requirement: a facility qualifies because it has a supervisor actually performing the supervision the statute describes, and cosmetic medical procedures may only be performed in a cosmetic medical facility. Chain those: no supervisor, no facility; no facility, no lawful procedures. Utah never had to write "every med spa must have a medical director" — it built the requirement into the definition of the place where the work happens. 58-1-506 then supplies the operational content, and R156-1-506 the education mechanics.

Where "medical director" and "supervisor" part company

Usually the same person wears both labels and nothing goes wrong. They come apart in three ways. The agreement can describe duties the statute does not require while omitting those it does — a generic template specifies quarterly meetings and an advisory role, and nothing about patient-specific authorisation or proximity. A medical director can be someone Utah will not accept as a supervisor: a physician on a restricted licence can hold a title and a retainer but cannot lawfully supervise. And most commonly, the title exists while the supervision does not. That last case is the costly one, because a medical director agreement is a private contract while the supervisor duty is a licensing obligation owed to the state and enforced against the clinician's own licence — see our guide to med spa medical director liability.

Who regulates this — DOPL and its boards

The regulator is the Utah Division of Professional LicensingDOPL — inside the Utah Department of Commerce. Utah renamed the division from the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing in 2022 and kept the acronym, so much current material still carries the older name — a naming artefact, not a superseded document. Beneath DOPL sit the Physicians Licensing Board at 58-67-201, the Board of Nursing at 58-31b-201, and the Cosmetology and Associated Professions Licensing Board at 58-11a-201 — all advisory, reviewing and recommending while the DOPL director issues orders.

Does a Utah Med Spa Need a Medical Director? The Direct Verdict

The verdict

No — and effectively yes. No Utah statute or rule requires a med spa to appoint a "medical director." But if the practice performs cosmetic medical procedures, it must have a cosmetic medical procedure supervisor meeting 58-1-505 who performs the supervision described in 58-1-506, and it may only perform those procedures in a facility that has one. For any practice offering neurotoxins, fillers, or Class IIIb and IV lasers, intense pulsed light, radiofrequency or lipolytic devices, you need the role — not the title.

Why "Utah has no medical director requirement" misleads

That sentence circulates in Utah operator groups and does real damage, because people hear it as permission to run without physician or APRN oversight. What it means is that Utah legislated a clinical role rather than a corporate governance one — stricter, not looser. A medical director requirement of the kind other states impose can be satisfied by a signature; Utah's can only be satisfied by conduct: authorising procedures for named patients, being within a defined distance while they occur, and verifying competence before delegating. Our explainer on the medical director versus supervising or collaborating physician distinction is the useful companion, because Utah has effectively chosen the second model and named it.

Who May Be a Cosmetic Medical Procedure Supervisor

The two qualifying licences

The list is short and closed. A supervisor is either a physician — an MD under the Utah Medical Practice Act at Title 58 Chapter 67, or a DO under the Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act at Chapter 68 — holding an unrestricted licence and acting within the scope of the practice of medicine; or an advanced practice registered nurse holding an unrestricted licence under the Nurse Practice Act at Chapter 31b. Nobody else qualifies: not a physician assistant, notwithstanding that PAs appear in delegation group A as people who may be delegated to; not a registered nurse; not an owner; and not an out-of-state physician.

What "unrestricted" rules out

The word is a live condition, not decoration. A licence carrying probationary terms, a practice restriction, a stipulated order, or post-discipline monitoring is not unrestricted, and that clinician cannot supervise even where their remaining scope would cover the procedure. Restrictions are often invisible to the practice and can arrive mid-engagement, silently ending eligibility. The control is simple and almost never implemented: verify status through DOPL's public licence lookup at onboarding, re-verify on a schedule, keep the dated printout. If a licence is restricted while that person is supervising, every procedure in the window happened in a facility with no qualifying supervisor.

The role passes only to another supervisor

58-1-506 addresses succession directly: a supervisor may delegate the supervisory role only to another individual qualified as a supervisor. That closes the most common coverage workaround in aesthetics — the physician is away, and an experienced RN or PA "covers" oversight for the day. In Utah that is not a lesser form of compliance; it is a facility operating without a supervisor. Practices solving this with shared coverage should read our guide to the fractional and part-time medical director model — it works in Utah, but only if that clinician can meet the proximity tier the procedures require.

Can a Nurse Practitioner Hold the Role? Utah's Clearest Answer

Full practice authority and the supervisor role

Yes. Utah is unambiguous here in a way most states are not: an APRN with an unrestricted licence is named in 58-1-505 as a qualifying supervisor, on the same footing as a physician. There is no requirement that the APRN in turn be supervised by or contract with a physician to hold the role. For an NP-owned Utah med spa this is structurally decisive — the owner can be the supervisor, evaluate patients, prescribe, authorise procedures and delegate, with no physician anywhere in the chart. That removes a whole category of cost, and the familiar failure of the absentee collaborating physician who signs annually and is otherwise unreachable.

What an APRN supervisor still cannot reach

Two limits. The APRN must be acting within the scope of advanced practice registered nursing, the same qualifier the statute applies to physicians; holding the title does not let anyone supervise a procedure outside their own scope and specialty preparation. The second is practical: where an APRN holds the role, the Board of Nursing reviews their conduct if a complaint arrives, and nursing boards take a close interest in delegation records — so an APRN supervisor is, if anything, better served by rigorous files than a physician. Our Utah guide to who can inject Botox walks the delegation chain licence by licence.

The Three Supervision Tiers: Direct, Indirect and General

Here Utah's statute earns its reputation. Rather than a vague standard of "appropriate supervision," 58-1-506 defines three named tiers, each built on the same foundation and differing in where the supervisor must physically be.

Direct cosmetic medical procedure supervision

Direct supervision means the supervisor has authorised the procedure to be done on the patient by the supervisee, and is present and available for face-to-face communication with the supervisee when and where the procedure is performed. This is the on-site tier: same building, available in person, at the time. It does not require the supervisor to be in the treatment room or to watch — but "present and available for face-to-face communication" is not satisfied by a phone, and not by being twenty minutes away.

Indirect cosmetic medical procedure supervision

Indirect supervision means the supervisor has authorised the procedure, has given written instructions to the person being supervised, and is present within the cosmetic medical facility in which that person is providing services. The written-instruction element is the distinguishing feature and the one most often missing. Indirect supervision is not a lighter version of direct supervision — it is a differently documented one, and a practice relying on it without written instructions on file has not met the tier it claims to be operating under.

General cosmetic medical procedure supervision

General supervision means the supervisor has authorised the procedure and is available in a timely and appropriate manner, in person, to evaluate and initiate care for a patient with a suspected adverse reaction or complication. This is the off-site tier, and it carries a proximity limit: the supervising clinician must be within 60 minutes or 60 miles of the facility. Note what "available in person" excludes — a supervisor reachable only by telephone from another state is not available in person to initiate care, however responsive they are.

One number we could not confirm

We could not open the current text of 58-1-506 from le.utah.gov while preparing this guide, and the 60-minute/60-mile proximity clause is the one element of the tier definitions we could not verify at line level — including which tiers it attaches to. Everything else here was consistent across the sources we could reach. Pull the current text and confirm that figure before you build staffing around it: we would rather flag the gap than have you rely on a number we could not read directly.

What "authorized the procedure to be done on the patient" requires

All three tiers share this clause, which makes it the most important phrase in Utah med spa compliance — and the one most often treated as boilerplate. It is patient-specific: the supervisor authorises the procedure on the patient. A blanket policy pre-authorising anyone who books and passes an intake form is not authorisation — it is a record that no authorisation occurred. What satisfies it is an identifiable decision, tied to a named patient, made beforehand and visible in the chart. Utah never uses the phrase good faith exam, but this requirement arrives at the same place — and it appears in every tier, so no configuration of Utah practice lets you skip it.

Delegation Group A and Delegation Group B

Who is in each group

Delegation group A comprises a physician assistant, if acting in accordance with Chapter 70a, the Utah Physician Assistant Act; a registered nurse; a master esthetician; and an electrologist, if evaluating for or performing laser hair removal. Delegation group B comprises a practical nurse or an esthetician licensed under Title 58, acting within their respective scopes of practice, and a medical assistant. Group B delegates attract a more demanding tier for the same procedure — so a task an RN may perform with the supervisor off site can require the supervisor inside the building when an esthetician performs it.

The medical assistant problem

The medical assistant entry deserves a flag. Medical assistants are not licensed by DOPL, which makes them the one group member whose scope is not defined by a practice act. Utah does not resolve, in the text we could reach, how far a medical assistant may be delegated in a cosmetic setting, and we are not going to invent a boundary. Treat medical assistant delegation as the most legally exposed staffing decision available to a Utah med spa, and get a Utah healthcare attorney's view before building a service line on it.

Group membership sets the tier, not the scope

This misreading produces most non-compliant Utah staffing, so state it flatly: being named in a delegation group is not a grant of authority. The groups are defined in terms of licensees acting within their respective scopes of practice. Membership answers "if this person may lawfully do this, how closely must they be supervised?" It never answers "may this person do this?" — their own practice act settles that. A master esthetician in group A may run laser hair removal under general supervision, because that sits within the master esthetics scope at 58-11a-302.18; the same person may not inject a neurotoxin under any tier, because injection appears nowhere in it. Delegating an injection to them is not a tier error — it is delegating the practice of medicine to someone unlicensed for it.

Utah put the supervisor in the statute. Put the evidence in the file.

The Operations & Compliance Kit gives you the policy and procedure manual, delegation and supervision records, chart-review logs, and education and training documentation — the inspection-ready structure that shows a DOPL investigator supervision actually happened, not just that someone was under contract.

View Operations Kit — $197

The 80-Hour Documented Education Requirement

What the 80 hours must cover

Utah Admin Code R156-1-506 sets out the 80 hours of documented education and experience required to maintain competence to perform nonablative cosmetic medical procedures, and it does not leave the content open. It specifies standards of care for nonablative procedures; skin physiology; skin typing and analysis; skin conditions, disorders and diseases; pre- and post-procedure care; infection control; laser and light physics training; laser technologies and applications; laser safety and maintenance; the procedures the individual is permitted to perform under Title 58; recognition and management of complications; and current health care provider CPR certification from a body such as the American Heart Association or American Red Cross.

Whose file it lives in

The requirement attaches to competence to perform, so the evidence concerns the delegate. But the person who bears the consequence of an undocumented delegate is the supervisor, who authorised the procedure and will be asked to justify the delegation. Keep the documentation in two places: the individual's credentialing file, and a supervision file the supervisor personally controls. The caveat: we could not confirm that R156-1-506 assigns custody of these records or sets a retention period. Where a rule is silent, keeping both copies costs nothing — but that is best practice on a clear underlying requirement, not a citable records rule.

Protocols, Standing Orders and Chart Review

What the statute requires, and what it leaves to the standard of care

58-1-506 requires written instructions for indirect supervision and patient-specific authorisation for every tier. Beyond that, the protocol architecture most compliance programmes assume — treatment protocols, emergency protocols, adverse event procedures, a chart review cadence — is not, as far as we could verify, spelled out procedure-by-procedure in Utah's cosmetic medical provisions. That is not permission to skip it. The obligation comes instead from the general standard of care and each profession's practice act, and DOPL evaluates it through unprofessional conduct provisions rather than a checklist — which is worse, not better, because a standard-of-care assessment is made after something has gone wrong.

The standing order that is not a standing order

The most common Utah documentation failure is a protocol that functions as blanket pre-authorisation — a signed page stating that patients meeting stated criteria may receive a stated treatment. It looks like governance and contradicts the statute, because every tier requires that the supervisor has authorized the procedure to be done on the patient. A document authorising a category of patients has, by its own terms, authorised no patient. Standing protocols remain useful for technique, parameters, contraindications and complication response, and belong in the operations manual as clinical guidance — but a chart showing a protocol reference where an order should be has documented its own non-compliance.

Chart review

Utah does not, to our knowledge, prescribe a numeric chart-review percentage or interval for cosmetic medical procedures. What it does instead is make the supervisor answerable for procedures they authorised — a stronger practical incentive than a quota. A defensible cadence: review every adverse event without exception; review a monthly sample of routine charts, sized so each delegate's work is examined regularly; and log each review with a date, the supervisor's name, the charts examined and any corrective action.

Get the Free Med Spa Compliance Checklist

The full practice-readiness audit — the yes/no checkpoints behind supervision, delegation and chart-review records, so you can find your gaps before a regulator does.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

What Changed on 1 January 2026

SB 330 and the cosmetology restructure

58-1-506 has a version effective 1 January 2026, superseding the version in force since 1 May 2024. The amendment arrived through Senate Bill 330 of the 2025 General Session, titled Cosmetology Modifications. Its centre of gravity was the Cosmetology and Associated Professions Licensing Act, not cosmetic medical supervision: it restructured licence classifications, reorganised the licensing board, and expanded what a master esthetician may do with cosmetic medical devices — laser hair removal, body contouring, anti-aging resurfacing enhancements and photo rejuvenation. The practice of master esthetics now sits at 58-11a-302.18 in its 1 January 2026 version.

What we could verify, and what we could not

We can state with confidence that the architecture described here carried forward: the supervisor definition at 58-1-505, the three supervision tiers, and the two delegation groups with the master esthetician in group A and the esthetician and medical assistant in group B. If your compliance file was built on that architecture, it did not become wrong on 1 January. What we will not do is characterise the specific drafting changes, because we could not retrieve a line-level comparison against the superseded version from a primary source. Given that SB 330 renamed licence classes across Chapter 11a, the likeliest shape is conforming cross-references — but that is an inference, and we label it one. Check whether the credential each staff member holds still carries the name it did in 2025; a delegation record naming a licence class that no longer exists will not do its job.

The Personal Licence Exposure a Supervisor Takes On

The supervisor's own licence is the collateral

When a med spa is investigated, the business faces commercial consequences — fines, an order to stop a service line, reputational damage. The supervisor faces those too, and then something the business cannot: an action against the licence they practise under, typically the foundation of their entire income including work unconnected to aesthetics. Utah's requirements are conduct-based, and each generates a question the supervisor answers personally. Did you authorise this procedure for this patient? Were you where the tier required? Did you verify this delegate's 80 hours? A retainer and a title produce evidence for none of them — which is why the supervisor, not the owner, is most at risk in a poorly run Utah med spa.

Where agreements and cost benchmarks belong

You will notice no walkthrough of agreement terms here and no fee benchmarks. That is deliberate: contract drafting and pricing are national questions with essentially the same answers in Utah as anywhere, and we keep them in one place so they stay current. Our consolidated guide to med spa medical director cost and agreement terms covers what the agreement should contain, how compensation is structured, and what a fair market rate looks like; the broader framework sits in our complete guide to med spa medical directors. Read those for the contract, and this page for what Utah's statute requires the contract to be evidence of. One Utah-specific note does belong here, though: make the agreement name the statutory role. Appointing someone "Medical Director" without identifying them as the cosmetic medical procedure supervisor under 58-1-505 documents a business relationship and leaves the licensing obligation unnamed.

What a DOPL Complaint Actually Looks Like

How a complaint starts

Complaints reach DOPL from a wider range of sources than operators expect: patients with a poor outcome, but also competitors, former employees, staff uncomfortable with what they are asked to do, insurers, and other licensees. They may be filed anonymously, and DOPL does not disclose the complainant's identity during an investigation. You cannot predict which relationship generates one, so the file has to be defensible at all times. Investigations run through DOPL's Bureau of Investigation, and first contact is typically a letter with a response deadline — commonly around 30 days, though work from the date on your own letter. That letter is not a finding, but the response is the highest-leverage document in the process.

The documents DOPL requests

Expect requests aimed at the supervision chain, not clinical outcomes alone: the complete patient record including the evaluation, the authorisation or order, consent, and the treatment record identifying who performed the procedure and on whose authority; the identity, licence number and status of everyone involved; the agreement establishing the supervisor relationship; written instructions where indirect supervision was relied on; protocols in force at the time; the delegate's 80-hour education documentation; and evidence of the supervisor's presence or availability consistent with the applicable tier — schedules, call logs, sign-in records. That last category cannot be produced retrospectively — nobody can reconstruct where the supervisor was on a Tuesday eighteen months ago unless something recorded it at the time, which is the strongest argument there is for a contemporaneous supervision log. Our guide to responding to a medical director board complaint covers the process end to end.

The boards' role and the loop it closes

Depending on which licence is implicated, the matter goes to the Physicians Licensing Board or the Board of Nursing, which review and recommend; the DOPL director issues the order. Outcomes range from closure with no action, through a letter of concern, to probation, restriction, suspension or revocation. Note the loop this closes: a restriction ends that person's eligibility to supervise, because 58-1-505 requires an unrestricted licence. So a disciplinary outcome against one clinician can leave a med spa with no qualifying supervisor overnight, and no lawful basis to operate until a replacement is in place.

Building a Utah Supervisor File That Survives Scrutiny

The evidence checklist

Everything above reduces to documents a Utah practice should produce on demand. A written appointment naming the cosmetic medical procedure supervisor and identifying the statutory role. Dated DOPL verifications confirming the licence is unrestricted. A named alternate who independently qualifies. A written record, per procedure type, of which tier applies and why. Written instructions wherever indirect supervision is used. Per-patient authorisation in every chart, distinguishable from a protocol reference. Education documentation for every delegate, mapped against the twelve R156-1-506 topics, with a dated record of the supervisor's review of it. Chart review records with dates and corrective actions. And a roster mapping each staff member to licence, scope, delegation group and authorised procedures.

The order to build it in

Building from nothing, the sequence is: confirm the supervisor qualifies, fix per-patient authorisation, then close the education gaps — in that order, because the first two are binary failures and the third is a gap you can be seen closing. For the templates, start with the Operations & Compliance Kit, or see how the full SOP library is organised on our medical spa SOP and compliance templates homepage.

Where Utah is genuinely silent

Four questions we could not answer from primary sources, listed so you do not mistake our silence for an absence of risk. How far a medical assistant may be delegated, given they hold no DOPL licence defining a scope. Whether ablative procedures may be delegated at all, and if so to whom — we found the ablative/nonablative distinction defined but could not confirm the delegation rule that follows, and we will not guess at a boundary separating lawful practice from a felony. Which tiers the 60-minute/60-mile clause attaches to. And whether R156-1-506 assigns custody or a retention period for education records. Ask DOPL on each, and where the answer drives a service line, get a Utah healthcare attorney's written view.

Bottom line

Utah requires a cosmetic medical procedure supervisor, not a medical director. Only a physician or an APRN with an unrestricted Utah licence may hold the role, and it may pass only to another qualifying supervisor. Three tiers — direct, indirect and general — set where that person must be, and every tier requires patient-specific authorisation. Delegation groups A and B set the tier, never the scope. Nonablative delegates need 80 hours of documented education under R156-1-506. The supervisor's personal licence is the collateral, and DOPL will ask for the supervision chain, not just the charts. Where Utah is silent, we have said so.

For more Utah-specific compliance guides, browse the Utah med spa compliance hub, or check the primary sources on our Utah med spa regulations reference.

This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal or medical advice. Utah supervision, delegation and scope-of-practice rules are administered by the Utah Division of Professional Licensing within the Department of Commerce, advised by the Physicians Licensing Board, the Board of Nursing, and the Cosmetology and Associated Professions Licensing Board, and they change over time. Utah Code 58-1-506 has a version effective 1 January 2026 that we have described only so far as we could verify it, and where Utah's position is unsettled we have said so rather than guessed. Confirm current requirements with DOPL and consult a Utah healthcare attorney before making staffing decisions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Utah require a med spa to have a medical director? +
Not by that name — and in substance, yes. No Utah statute requires a "medical director." Utah Code 58-1-505 instead requires a cosmetic medical procedure supervisor, and defines a cosmetic medical facility as one having such a supervisor performing the supervision 58-1-506 requires. Because those procedures may only be performed in a cosmetic medical facility, a practice offering neurotoxins, fillers, Class IIIb and IV lasers, IPL, radiofrequency or lipolytic devices must have one. You may call that person your medical director; the title has no legal effect either way.
Who can be a cosmetic medical procedure supervisor in Utah? +
Utah Code 58-1-505 limits the role to two licences: a physician with an unrestricted licence under the Utah Medical Practice Act at Chapter 67 or the Utah Osteopathic Medical Practice Act at Chapter 68, acting within the scope of the practice of medicine; or an advanced practice registered nurse with an unrestricted licence under the Nurse Practice Act at Chapter 31b, acting within that scope. Physician assistants, registered nurses, master estheticians and unlicensed owners do not qualify, and the licence must be a Utah one. The role may be delegated only to another qualified supervisor.
Can a nurse practitioner be a med spa medical director in Utah? +
Yes. Utah Code 58-1-505 names an advanced practice registered nurse with an unrestricted licence as a qualifying supervisor on the same footing as a physician, with no requirement that the APRN be supervised by or contract with a physician. Utah grants APRNs full practice authority, so an NP owner can serve as supervisor, evaluate patients, prescribe, authorise procedures and delegate, with no physician in the structure. Two limits: the APRN must act within the scope of advanced practice registered nursing, and the Board of Nursing reviews their conduct if a complaint arrives.
What is the difference between direct, indirect and general supervision in Utah? +
All three tiers under Utah Code 58-1-506 require that the supervisor has authorised the procedure on the specific patient. They differ in proximity. Direct supervision means being present and available for face-to-face communication with the supervisee when and where the procedure is performed. Indirect supervision means having given written instructions to the person supervised, and being present within the cosmetic medical facility. General supervision means being available in a timely and appropriate manner, in person, to evaluate and initiate care for a suspected adverse reaction or complication, subject to a proximity limit expressed as 60 minutes or 60 miles.
Does a Utah med spa medical director have to be on site? +
It depends on the tier the procedure and delegate require. Under direct supervision the supervisor must be present where and when the procedure happens; under indirect supervision, within the cosmetic medical facility. Under general supervision they may be off site but must remain available in person to evaluate and initiate care, within the statute's proximity limit. No tier lets a Utah supervisor be merely a name on a contract, because every tier also requires patient-specific authorisation beforehand.
What is the 80-hour requirement for cosmetic medical procedures in Utah? +
Utah Admin Code R156-1-506 requires 80 hours of documented education and experience to maintain competence to perform nonablative cosmetic medical procedures, and specifies the content: standards of care, skin physiology, skin typing and analysis, skin conditions and diseases, pre- and post-procedure care, infection control, laser and light physics, laser technologies and applications, laser safety and maintenance, the procedures the individual may perform under Title 58, complication management, and current health care provider CPR certification. Keep the evidence in the delegate's file and in a supervision file the supervisor can produce.
Can one physician supervise more than one med spa in Utah? +
Utah does not set a numeric cap in the sources we could verify, and we will not invent one. But proximity limits capacity in practice: nobody can be inside two facilities at once for indirect supervision, and general supervision requires being available in person to initiate care. The real test is not the number of contracts but whether, for every procedure at every site, the supervisor could demonstrate they met the tier it required. Map coverage against the treatment calendar before signing, and name a qualifying alternate.
What happens if DOPL receives a complaint about a Utah med spa? +
DOPL's Bureau of Investigation opens the matter, usually with a letter carrying a response deadline. Complaints may be filed anonymously and the complainant's identity is not disclosed during the investigation. Expect requests aimed at the supervision chain, not just clinical outcomes: patient records showing evaluation and authorisation, licence details for everyone involved, the supervisor arrangement, written instructions where indirect supervision applied, protocols in force, the delegate's 80-hour documentation, and evidence the supervisor met the required tier. The relevant board reviews and recommends; the DOPL director issues any order. Any resulting restriction ends that person's eligibility to supervise, since 58-1-505 requires an unrestricted licence.

Every Protocol, Ready to Adapt

Your supervisor carries the licence risk. Give them a file worth defending.

All 62 SOPs across injectables, laser, weight loss, hormones, operations and emergencies — supervision and delegation records, per-patient authorisation forms, chart-review logs, consent forms and treatment protocols, ready to adapt to Utah's supervision tiers and delegation groups.

View Complete Suite — $997

More Utah compliance guides on the Utah med spa compliance hub.